Queen Victoria's Archbishops of Canterbury

Michael Chandler


Barcode: 9781789590562

Release date: 01/10/2019

£17.99 (was £19.99)
We currently have 2 in stock.

During the reign of Queen Victoria, the Church of England changed remarkably, and many of the institutions that are now a significant part of its life began to take shape. In six engaging mini-biographies, Michael Chandler introduces William Howley (1828–1848), John Bird Sumner (1848–1862), Charles Thomas Longley (1862–1868), Archibald Campbell Tait (1868–1882), Edward White Benson (1883–1896), and Frederick Temple (1896–1902)?, the six men who served as Archbishops of Canterbury under Queen Victoria. He maps out how they not only responded to the ecclesial, social and political concerns of the time, but transformed the Church of England from an established church that largely served its own country to being part of a global church of which former colonies could be equal partners.


Have a Question?

Be the first to ask a question about this.

Ask a Question